Sunday, July 24, 2011

Tour de What the Fuck is Happening

Tour de France.

Here are my thoughts/frustration:

 I don't get it. I just don't.

The peleton is a mystery. The last day is a formality yet there are a number of sprint races going on that have nothing to do with the actual overall win.There are 40 kilometers of nothing, leisure riding really.

By the way, how far is a damn kilometer? I also don't understand the metric system despite my elementary school trying to cram it into my brain in 3rd grade so Americans could be more competitive with the rest of the world.

Then there is about 30 kilometers of something happening though I don't really know what and the end is 45 seconds of organizing, sprinting, highly charged announcing and finally the finish where the rider doesn't ride all the way through but pulls up at the end to sit up and prove that he can ride with no hands. All this while almost being nosed out by the 2nd place sprint finisher.

Evans WINS by a piece of spiky rubber dangling from his front tire! Spec-f'ing-tacular!

So exciting. It has been a great tour as reported by Kim, who love, love, loves it.

Kim is complaining in the background, "False advertising really pisses me off." She is so funny.

Anyway, the tour is over, and I no longer have to sit through it in order to not hurt Kim's feelings.

So I am celebrating the end of the tour. I'm not celebrating b/c of the drama or the amazing feats of the athletes. Though the crashes are fun, I don't celebrate the anticipation of the next tour.

I celebrate because the damn thing is over, and I get Kim back. It's been a long 2 weeks of missing my best friend and pretending that I sort of care about this race.

No comments:

Post a Comment