I've had a couple of rough weeks at work. I've encountered those customers, those rare customers who cannot be pleased despite my shit eating, ass kissing, humble pie choking demeanor.
One whose bathroom I remodeled, designed, torn to the studs, put back together in 3 weeks except for glass and counters, which cannot be measured for until everything is installed, held my over $6000 check for a $50 bathroom fan.
It was "leverage" to quote my customer.
They also dangled another job in front (carpet) of me and turned around and gave it to another company that they had zero experience with while I was on the first significant vacation that I have had in many, many years.
I had spent weeks trying to help them with their carpet.
Currently, I have a couple unhappy about their shoe mold (small quarter round) and the painting of it. They are also angry because my crew put stuff in their refrigerator, used a couple of their forks, used their microwave and used a portable fan.
Forget that it has been over 100 degrees everyday for weeks. Forget that it is impossible to keep ice in a cooler when it is this freaking hot. And lastly, forget that this couple turned off their air conditioner, and my guys dared to use a fan that they found.
People amaze me.
These people are currently not paying me, not allowing me to remedy their complaints and calling in at least 3 other contractors, I suppose to gather evidence against me.
Now I am not present for their bitchfest to these other contractors, so I have no way to address anything that these contractors might bring up as a concern.
Out of desperation to end this awfulness, I offered to refund them all of their money for the shoe mold, labor to install it and labor to paint it. Almost a $1000.
Last email I sent telling them about the refund of their money for the shoe mold along with reiterating my willingness to repair anything they were unhappy with and reminding them that they still have a 2 year installation warranty, the woman, who I can only assume is the most messed up, heartless human alive, responded by saying that I obviously knew the shoe mold was wrong since I had refunded the money.
With all of my years of therapy, I have come to assume that she has mommy issues and was horribly shamed as a child since she takes every opportunity to tear me down.
My Father in Law, Jerry, and truly one of the best men that I know, told me to keep my head and get my money. He is right, and I needed to hear it.
It is difficult to not take the emotional bait that I am daily taunted with. It is almost impossible to feel these people's disappointment in me when I was at their job every. single. day! I gave them my all and when we fell short was more than willing and happy to fix it and apologize for it and in generally acknowledge their immense disappointment.
I received an email today that I had a new user review on CitySearch, and I almost swallowed my tongue as I imagined what horrific things this horrible woman at possibly said about me and my company on line.
I read it with dread, but it turned out to be a customer that likes me and doesn't consider me the stupidest human alive.
There are sometimes in life that no matter what you do, no matter how hard you try, no matter the amount that you bend over and take it full on in the ass, there are going to be a few select people that cannot, will not forgive, forget, move on and accept the situation and the apology.
To my customer that left the positive review and all of my other customers who truly give me so much love and acknowledgement, thank you, thank you very much.
To those that make me grieve the decision to ever accept their money, I would like to be able to be the bigger person and just say, "well, that is sad for them and I hope they feel better soon."
Unfortunately, I don't think that in my blog I am that big, so to them, I say "fuck you and you were lucky that you gave your crappy job to me because no one else would consume the volume of shit that you have doled out and still fix your fucking issues."
I hope your floors fall apart at 2 years 1 day and that you call me, and I get to tell you that your warranty has expired by 1 fucking day.
THAT will be a damn good day!
No comments:
Post a Comment